Quick links - Jump to Presidents Welcome - Jump to Latest News and Results

Best scores

Best of the year, 2018

Mens Gross - 67 - Ash Smith - 28th January

Mens Nett - 59 - Terry Charlesworth - 11th January

Womens Gross - 79 - Denise Goile - 22nd March

Womens Nett - 62 - Addy Nieremeijer - 7th January

Best of August

Mens Gross - 70 - Scott Law  - 19th August

Mens Nett - 61 - Phillip Eyre - 5th August

Womens Gross - 

Womens Nett - 

Presidents Welcome


Hello and welcome to the Pirongia Golf Club website. We hope that its contents are of value, whether you intend being a casual visitor or a potential club member.

Most clubs have a characteristic or two which sets them apart from other clubs and Pirongia is no exception. An obvious feature is the background setting of Mount Pirongia with its tidy, pastured,lower slopes, contrasting against the bush clad upper reaches. The close proximity to the bush provides, particularly during the spring months, an abundance of tui, as well as smaller numbers of kaka (NZ native parrot) and kereru, our native pigeon. Additional to this, the Waipa River and its tributary, the Mangapiko Stream, enhance the view from parts of the course.

Making the Pirongia Golf Club unique is the race track, integrated into the course, which is used once a year for the well known Pirongia Boxing Day races. The transformation of the golf course to a race track, with attendances of up to 10,000 people, and then back to a golf course, with just over one days play unavailable, bears testimony to another invaluable characteristic of Pirongia ... a great spirit of co-operation and voluntary help. It is this which also enables the golf club to keep the course in a neat and tidy condition, whilst maintaining very low costs of membership.

Should your visit coincide with our club day and our usual tee-off times, please make yourself known to the starting official who will arrange a playing group for you. Your presence is most welcome and we wish you an enjoyable round.

Thank you for visiting our website.

Latest News and Results

19th August: Match Play Champs Round 2

A full round of Match Play took place in round 2 today. In the Senior division, no 1 seed, Scott Law took apart Ben Jefferies in 6 and 5. Law finished the round with a 2 under 70 score. He will meet Tyne Watts in the first semifinal after Watts accounted for Gary Bowman 3 and 2. On the other side of the draw Sean Bonenkamp was able to defeat Brent Keene 4 and 3. He will meet Dave Seager in the semifinal after Ben Vincent had to default his match.

The intermediate semifinals will be between Phillip Eyre and Derek Boyle in semifinal one while Ken Bardsley awaits the winner of the Bill Fox / Rob Taylor match which will be played Thursday. Derek Boyle defeated Gary Russo 1 up after coming back from 3 down early. Ken Bardsley was able to defeat Hans Nieremeijer while Phillip Eyre was able to progress directly through to the semifinals.

The Junior matchplay semifinal one will be between direct qualifier Barry Cavey and Don Matson, who defeated Bryan Ryburn today. THe other semifinal sees Dave Strawbridge (direct qualifier) take on Dave Lamb. Lamb was able to beat Adrian Elliott in tidays match.

Junior B semifinals see Ross Scown play Grant Clow nad Kevin Nickson take on Terry Charlesworth. Clow was able to defeat Dave Peryer whilst Charlesworth defeated Dick Thomas.

Scramble Results




Longst Putt:

Closest to the Pin:


12th August: Match Play Champs

Only two matches were contested in the match play champs today. Ben Jefferies was able to sneak out to a 2 up lead early and, try as he might, Josh Law was unable to bridge the gap. Ben won 3 and 2. Brent Keene played new greenkeeper, Callumn Scott in the other match. THis was a close match but Keene was able to sneal home 2 and 1.


Hamilton visitor Mark Geenty (+7) found the Pirongia course to his liking and was able to head off Waihi visitor Andrew Allen and Ron Cogswell (both +5) for the honours in the junior scramble. Tyne Watts found some good form and headed the senior scramble with a +6 score. This was two better than Kevin Appleby.


Senior (par)

Junior (par):

Longest Putt:

Closest to the Pin

5th August: Impressions Childcare Open Tournament

The wet winter continued for the Pirongia Golf Clubs Impressions Childcare Open Tournament today, This resulted in a number of people deciding not to play. As a result only 40 hardy souls trudged around in the heavy conditions. Within those 40 players, a number of clubs were represented. Pio Pio Aria, Waitomo, Kawhia, Coromandel and Te Awamutu clubs were all represented.

Phillip Eyre quite clearly enjoyed the conditions shooting a fantastic 61 nett. Scott Law took out the gross prize after birdying each of the last three holes to finish with 73. Garry Russo also played well scoring 41 stableford points.



Scott Law: 73


Senior: Garry Russo; 67

Intermediate: Phillip Eyre; 61

Junior: Ross Scown; 71

Women: Celeste Sattler


Senior: Dave Seager, Garry Bowman, Josh Russo, Brent Keene

Intermediate: Kevin Appleby, Jim Dunn, Barry Cavey, Jack Hjorth, Derek Boyle, Ken Bardsley, Hans Nieremeijer

Junior: Pat Ryan, Ron Brooking, Neil Scott, Grant Morgan, Dave Lamb, Grant Clow, Paddy Reeves

Women: Eugene Weimer, Lynda Morgan, Addy Nieremeijer

Longest Drives: Scott Law (Senior), Ross Mudgway (Intermediate), Grant Morgan (Junior), Celeste Sattler (Women)

Closest to the Pin: Scott Law (Senior / Intermediate), Paddy Reeves (Junior / Women)

Two's: Scott Law, Derek Boyle, Ken Bardsley, Brent Keene

29th July: Memorial Day

Denise Goile and Dave Lamb combined well to shoot a 4 ball best ball nett round of 62 on Sunday to win the Memorial Day mixed division. Kevin Appleby and Grant Clow took the mens division with 61 in a countback from Tyne Watts and Kevin Nickson on a countback.

34 members turned out for Memorial day and the promised showers almost held off until everyone had finished. The heavens did open for the final two holes and suddenly everyone was wet! Callumn Scott, our new greenkeeper was introduced to members and had his first hit around the track. His first round was not as memorable as he would have liked and he will be looking to make amends during the Senior Match Play Champs coming up.

Results Scramble (Nett)





Nearest the Pin:

Longest Putt:


Drone Flyover of 1st hole.

I am slowly in the process of adding flyovers of the holes to "The Course" page. To see an example of what it may look like click here to see the first hole.

Share our website